Telling Stories

February 26, 2010 at 12:04 PM Leave a comment

What if Shira reads Castle Barebane when she grows up, is appalled by the real story (although it’s pretty tame by today’s standards), and wonders what in the world I was thinking telling her  a kid version of the story. The ending I told her had elements of the real ending (bad guys in a boat, sailor saving the day), and it was suited to her, just as the rest of the story that I fashioned for her tastes and age. But I can’t help wondering, after I sort of backed myself into a corner by starting the whole retelling the story as I was reading it, about its lasting effects. Am I like silly Annot, telling scary old stories to the children just because it seems like a fun thing to do to pass the time? I’ll have to find some of Joan Aiken’s children’s lit. and introduce Shira to that. Either way, it’s got to be better than the Barbie Fairytopia story she picked out at the library this week.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Joan Aiken, Children’s Author Happy, happy mother’s day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers


