Mom in Scrubs

January 25, 2015 at 7:30 PM 5 comments

I searched the web the other day looking for ideas for keeping your tube-feeding child safe while feeding–and by safe I mean not pulling out the tube, not pulling apart the tubing and making a mess, and not making mommy crazy by getting into trouble while feeding. Instead of helpful tricks other parents used to keep their kids entertained and keep the tubes out of the way, I found pictures of perfect little toddlers happily playing while the tube sits untouched and stories of super moms who do it all, raise dozens of kids, and tote their tube-feeding children everywhere.

I was patting myself on the back for getting out for a walk with Eliana one day last week when it hit 40 degrees. The next day I was totally off–misread the nursing schedule and then forgot that Eliana’s physical therapist was coming. So I look a little frazzled. Oh, well, I never claimed to be a super mom.

(Remember Scrubs, Zach Braff’s hilarious medical sit-com and its killer theme song?)

Nope, I’m no super mom–and I don’t want to be. I have read two blogs recently by moms who call themselves super moms. And they are, either because they’re raising special needs kids, home schooling, working full time, or whatever else makes them unique. In this house, we’re happy when everyone’s fed and clothed at the end of the day. Super is too much to ask for.

After Shira was born, I went back to work part time. It was hard to find child care on a part-time schedule and wasn’t very financially feasible, but we made it work. I was able to keep working part time as she got older and plan my work hours around her school day and activities. That worked pretty well.

It’s a different story with Eliana, and even though she qualifies for private duty nursing, I was struggling to find the time to work even 20 hours a week. Now I’ve decided to stop working and cut back on nursing because I’m not a super mom, just a regular mom with some extra jobs to do.

(Stay tuned: Hank promises to follow up with a rebuttal.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Transplant Party Response to Super Mom

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan Nathan  |  January 25, 2015 at 7:58 PM

    So beautifully written! I’m sure you are doing a fantastic job! And I know you are a super mother to your girls!

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn Brown  |  January 28, 2015 at 9:11 PM

    Wishing you the very best as you change things up in your house. I think you are super neighbors raising two beautiful girls who adore each other.

    Reply
  • […] week Amy published “Mom in Scrubs,” which said “I’m not a super mom” over and over again.  She basically dared me to write a […]

    Reply
  • 4. Laura  |  April 25, 2015 at 9:07 PM

    You are a mom, and you are doing a super job caring for your girls. Which makes you a supermom.

    Reply
  • 5. Suzanne Gruneberg  |  February 13, 2016 at 5:05 PM

    Amy, I didn’t have any special needs kids and I didn’t qualify as “Super Mom”. Not even close!
    But when I hear what your entire family has coped with, what decisions you have made and followed through with, the extent of your everyday challenges and triumphs and joys and sadness….well, listen up, YOU ARE DEFINITELY A SUPER MOM IN MY BOOK and you’re leading (and sometimes following and sometimes stumbling with) one heck of a family! So yes, none of us feels “super” when life’s frustrations roll over us like a tidal wave! But trust me please when I say that you are admired and prayed for and marveled at. Some day I pray the mire that you find yourself sinking in will be washed away by achievements and health. Hang in there my dear. And if you EVER just need to rant, give me a call. I listen really well. Hank knows my number!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers


